Books2019-09-06T17:03:08-04:00

We’re Gainin’: Collins Brook, A Maine Free School – A Memoir

Book Testimonials The intertwining of Jacob's memoir with the birth, life and death of Collins Brook School contains rich details of physical endurance, snarling and loving relationships, tests of will and determination, and the path from emotional loss to spiritual growth. The sweep of We’re Gainin’ is engaging and informative, wistful and provocative. The drama of this remarkable school from concept to creation and demise is backdrop for the odyssey of Dick to Jacob Watson. We're Gainin' is the engaging memoir of Jacob Watson, a New Englander of superb imagination, the exercise of which created Collins Brook, a Maine free school. It details how he built it out of that imagination, seemingly inexhaustible personal energy, and incredible utilization of resources that seemed to appear out of nowhere. It also details the hamartia —

Enso Morning: Daily Meditation Gifts, by Jacob Watson

Over 160 blessings inspired by nature to awaken, stimulate and deepen meditation and spiritual practice.   Enso Morning: Daily Meditation Gifts by Jacob Watson. Publication date 29th April 2016, published by O Books (an imprint of John Hunt Publishing) ISBN: 978-1-78535-298-0 (Paperback) £13.99 $24.95 EISBN: 978-1-78535-299-7 (e-book) £5.99 $8.99 Enso Morning: Daily Meditation Gifts presents over 160 Morning Blessing Letters to awaken, stimulate and deepen meditation and spiritual practice. In the tradition of Robert Frost and Wendell Berry, Jacob uses poetic images and personal experiences of New England nature, the birds, animals, woods, and beaches of coastal Maine, to awaken readers to begin their day nurtured and encouraged to be themselves, joined with like-minded souls. The personal letters in Enso Morning: Daily Meditation

Essence: The Emotional Path to Spirit

More than a workbook for personal growth, Essence: The Emotional Path to Spirit is a practical guide to emotional and spiritual development. Jacob describes in detail the emotional path to healing past wounds, and how this path leads naturally into spiritual realms. Jacob shares stories of his personal spiritual evolution, growing up in a New England family, starting the alternative Collins Brook School, his career as a grief counselor, helping start the Center for Grieving Children, leading workshops with Elisabeth Kubler-Ross and founding the Chaplaincy Institute of Maine. Each chapter begins with a meditation and ends with a spiritual practice. It is available now in local book stores and on Amazon. Click here to order. "A vital, valuable and important book; clear, simple